Root Tabs Or Liquid Fertilizer?

benjmin
hI i'm new to planted aquariums and I want to provide the correct nutrient content to my plants. I currently have a few products seachem fourish excel, seachem root tabs, and i'm considering aquarium co-ops easy green.

could someone break down the difference between root tabs and liquid fertilizers?

thanks fish fam!

jacob thompson
the liquid fertilizer is very good for free rooted plants that either float at the top of the water or are attached to driftwood like anubius. however this is not good for plants that are planted deep in the substrate since if you use sand the liquid would be able to get down their. root tabs are for planted plants like amazon swords and crypto that are planted in the ground and need the roots tab in order to get nutrients.

angelcraze
I don't know if I'm breaking it down, but I use root tabs for my heavy root feeding plants. Stem plants benefit more from water column ferts.

Actually, I only use root tabs. If the stems don't grow well, I don't use them. I propagate what grows well in each tank. Every tank is different.

benjmin
the liquid fertilizer is very good for free rooted plants that either float at the top of the water or are attached to driftwood like anubius. however this is not good for plants that are planted deep in the substrate since if you use sand the liquid would be able to get down their. root tabs are for planted plants like amazon swords and crypto that are planted in the ground and need the roots tab in order to get nutrients.

so I have s repens, jungle val, and some crypts. would you recommend just using root tabs?

I don't know if I'm breaking it down, but I use root tabs for my heavy root feeding plants. Stem plants benefit more from water column ferts.

Actually, I only use root tabs. If the stems don't grow well, I don't use them. I propagate what grows well in each tank. Every tank is different.