Root less plants?k

1. A

Alex126 Valued Member Member

I am new to plants and all my plants that I had have roots. I bought some today and it's just the plant. Almost like flowers when you buy them at the store. It's just the stem. I will able to post a pic of the plant later. And what is fertalizer? Is it just a chemical. Will it effect the fish? Thanks!!

2. C

CLam Well Known Member Member

Fertilizer, like many things in the natural world, is a chemical(s). It's mostly good stuff like nitrogen and trace elements that might not be present in adequate quantities in tap water. Fertilizer intended for aquarium use does not affect fish, but certain brands may have a detrimental effect on invertebrates, sometimes lethally so.

3. OP
    OP
    A

I have 10 ghost shrimp. So maybe it will hurt them?

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

4. C

Not necessarily. What hurts inverts is excess copper, but there are fertilizers that are safe for them. Check the label. What brand is it?

5. OP
    OP
    A

Oh. That's the thing I don't have any and I'm debating on getting it. Is it liquid?

6. C

Some are. General consensus here is that Flourish Comprehensive (liquid, safe for inverts) is pretty rad, but it can get pretty pricey, so check out the dry ferts, too. You said you have rooted plants? Some plants only use roots as anchors, but many do actually use roots to take up nutrients, in which case you will need root tabs, or an appropriate substrate.

7. OP
    OP
    A

Alright thx. I will look into it and yes half my plants are rooted and the new plants I got today have just the stems witch I thought looked weird. But maybe that's just me!

8. g

guthrieb08 Valued Member Member

when i got my wisteria and red ludwigia it was just a stem no roots and its been in the tank for about a month or 2 and it has roots in the substrate and on the water column up the plant. they will grow roots most likely.

9. OP
    OP
    A