Question RO water systems, how have you modded yours to your liking, mods, tips & tricks etc.

kered

Reaction score
Although I am no expert, while investigating the differnt types available and reading hundreds of posts on the subject I picked up a few ideas,tips,tricks and mods along the way.
I think the main reason why people are put off an RO system is the amount of waste water that comes out of the discharge and washed away down the drain.
Many people live in counties, regions where water is metered just like electricity. Here in Spain almost every town and city have water meters that meter your usage and you pay accordingly, in the south it gets to a point where water is rationed in the summer and you are not allowed to wash your car at home, water your garden etc. I'm lucky living in the north in a very rural area I have my own well like many, but even so I always try to save water where posible.
Having a well I have a 1.5hp motor to pump water from the well to a large 2500 litre tank and because this tank is almost at the same level as the shower head I have another automatic booster pump 3/4hp that keeps pressure in the house circuit and turns on when the pressure drops. I also have a bypass that will give much lower pressure for likes of the WC that fills up slowly by gravity using no electricity.
My options were get a normal system that ran either by gravity fed or water booster pressure fed or a system with its own pump that has a small booster pump tailored to fit and uses the gravity fed line, these motors are between 100 - 400w @24v depending on your system and very small compared to a 3/4hp booster. This is the system I decided on as pure gravity fed only gave me 1.4 bar well short of the 3.5 bar recomended pressure. First a brief description of the systems