Revive Angelfish

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Brian Adams, Apr 13, 2017.

1. Brian Adams

Brian Adams Valued Member Member

Hi!

I'm new to Fishlore, but I've been reading the threads for a few months now. I've enjoyed the community, and have found a situation that has given me a reason to create my first post.

I have recently set up a new 55 gallon tank, and ordered some Angelfish from Angelmania.net. Mr. Gordon has absolutely beautiful fish, and does all he can to make sure the fish arrive alive and healthy. He added a couple extra fish along with my order. I assume they were added to ensure I received at least 3 fish alive.
    I did have 3 fish survive, but there were 2 tiny little guys that were fighting for their lives. I lost one, but there is one more who is breathing, but not swimming. I can't help but cheer him on, and want to do anything I can to save him.

He is less than dime sized, and I've seperated him into a hospital tank. There is no substrate, and I've only added an air stone to the tank. I can see his gills move, and every once in awhile (like once an hour manybe?) he'll start to swim upright for a few seconds. Mostly though, he just lays on his side.

Is there a way to revive a dying fish? The water I have him in was treated, of course, and I added much of my established aquarium water. That water has some tannins from a nice piece of dark driftwood, some aquarium salt, and no ammonia. There is little to no nitrates, nitrites either. The ph is between 6.8 and 7.0.

The little guy seems to be fighting, but he's so week. Please help me help this juvenile! I would love for this underdog... er... underfish? make a full recovery!!!

2. Lchi87

Lchi87 Moderator Moderator Member

Is your hospital tank heated, filtered and cycled?