Reverse Osmosis Filtration System To Lower pH

Discussion in 'Reverse Osmosis Filter for Freshwater' started by jcmguy, Aug 3, 2014.

1. jcmguy

jcmguy Valued Member Member

So I bought a reverse osmosis system from a friend who said he didnt need it anymore. It is a 3 stage filter that had this in it for a membrane: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B001PDWUD6?pc_redir=1406730901&robot_redir=1

Should I buy another on of these to replace and get the replacement prefilters or should I get another type and if so, suggestions please?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum mobile app

I need it to lower the TDS to close to zero.

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 3, 2014
  2. OP
    OP
    jcmguy

Anyone?

3. L

Linwood Valued Member Member

I'm new to this but did a lot of research on RODI and PH and for what it is worth....

You only need to replace the prefilters and membranes if you need to. Sorry, but there's no good way to know, and they are pretty pricey. The first thing I'd do is get a TDS meter, if you don't have one, so you can tell.

Secondly, if this is a drinking water system (as opposed to aquarium) make sure it does not have a post-filter for remineralization. if it does, remove it.

If the membrane has dried out (and was used) it may be bad. Recommendations are to keep them moist.

My suggestion is hook it up and see what you get out of it. Flush the membrane well (does it have a flush setup? If not, just remove the flow restriction on the waste), then after flushing restore the waste flow restrictor and let it run 10 minutes or so in normal mode, and then check the water coming out. TDS should be > 90% removed relative to input, generally more like 95%.