Return to the tank!!!!

sp4ngel

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I can't work out what sub-forum to post this under as this post will cover a lot of things.

Hi guys, I'm Kayleigh.
I'm not a new newbie but am returning to the hobby after a mass tragedy that only happened 9 months into my first tank last year, unfortunately my family had a holiday abroad booked that could not be rescheduled and have to leave my fishies in the care of a neighbour- they all died. I believe my neighbour massively overfed them and didn't clean out leftover food which led to the filter clogging and subsequently dying and killing the fish with it. I decided to de-construct the tank and put it into storage, but now I feel ready to return to it as i really enjoyed caring for and lookng at my tank.

The tank is 70 litres long, looking for low tech planted community tank. I have the tank, a heater, a net, syphon and black gravel. Any suggestions for cheap but good plant substrate would be greatly appreciated. I will be purchasing a new filter, again any suggestions would be great.

Onto set up, for plants i want to skip the CO2 due to running costs and complexity, I am looking at getting some: java moss. anubias, crypts, java fern and jungle val. Would these be suitable for low tech and what others could I add? Also, would fertiliser be needed?

Stocking, after doing a fishless cycle (I cycled with 6 zebra danios last time(I know it's not good but they all survived happily btw)) I am looking to stock with: 5 kuhli loaches, and that's all I've really settled on. What would be some good tankmates?

My water is hard and according to my water company is 323mg/l total hardness. The tank is not set up yet, so anything said is a plan and subject to change because I want to get everything sorted first and wait until after I finish my GCSE's so I have a longish period of time to set everything up.

Thank you in advance for all your help, ideas and support, sorry for the long post.
Kayleigh