Restarting

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Danimal6, Apr 19, 2018.

1. Danimal6

Danimal6Valued MemberMember

Tragedy struck my tank. I lost all of my poor fish to what has been diagnosed as internal parasites of some kind. I'm still new to fishkeeping, so I had no idea about what could have been causing my fish to act strange and I caught it too late.

I don't want to give up, so I'm following the advice of the lfs employees (I know but they seem to know their stuff and haven't really led me wrong yet). They said to let the tank sit for a month or so with no fish, which is fine because it gives me a chance to work on a shrimp tank I've been wanting to build, but I want to be sure that if I do add fish in a month or so the water will be safe for them.

So my questions are: will leaving the tank fishless for a month or so eliminate the risk of parasites being in the water? Also, how can I make sure the cycle is maintained without the fish, if that's possible?

The only inhabitants left in the tank are some plants and three nerite snails. Thanks for any advice you can offer!

2. Demeter

DemeterFishlore VIPMember

You would need to add some ammonia to the water every now and then to feed the bacteria, leaving it w/o source of ammonia will kill the cycle. Also not too sure leaving the tank set for a month will kill all the pathogens, but it's worth a shot.

Not sure what type of ammonia to use, never actually used it myself, but I'm sure others can assist.

3. toran

toranValued MemberMember

I would still treat the tank.

API general cure would take care of any left. Read the instructions about your snails. I think they would be fine but if not put them in a separate container.

Do a big water change before treatment.

While the tank is empty you still need to feed the bacteria with ammonia. When you feed the snails put in a little extra and leave it till the next day at feeding time. Then take out the old before feeding the fresh food.