Resealing a tank - do the whole tank?

robj6767

HI there, I just got my hands on a 75 gallon tank that was in rough shape with the seals. As I have never done this before with a tank, I'm looking for any help on tricks or information on how to do so. My main question is, do I have to separate the glass and do the complete seal or can I strip off the old inside and then just reseal fromt he inside. The seal across the bottom of the tank seems fine and it is only the edges on the sides that are a bit old. The tank came from an aquarium and was already predrilled on the bottom, but the previous owner sealed that with a plate of glass. I don't have any worries about that leaking as its got a very good seal around it. What I do have a worry about is only resealing the sides. should I just reseal the entire tank or will the silicone adhear to the silicone across the bottom? I've heard good things about them but just wanted to double check.

Nick G

HI Rob, Welcome to Fishlore! You shouldn't need to completly reseal the tank, but you will need to strip the existing silicone before resealing. This is pretty easily done with a razor blade. Scrape off all the excess silicone then reseal it and let it cure for 24hrs before water testing it.

Racing1113

What brand/kind of silicone is safe to use for aquariums? The aquarium silicone is so expensive!

fot80

It should not be too much more than 10 dollars or so

Racing1113

True but just regular silicone is way cheaper at Walmart. For the amount I need the aquarium silicone would add up to way too much. I know there's kinds that are safe for aquariums, I just need to know what they are.

AmnScott

GE1 (General Electric 1) "Pure Silicone" (which can be found at almost any hardware store), or for a little more RTV 108 which is stronger and holds up better.

Make sure to use GE I and not GE II with the mold resistance, the caulking bottles look similar, one is red and one is blue.

Racing1113