Requesting advice for new tank set up

Discussion in 'Filters and Filtration' started by LICfish, Apr 6, 2010.

1. LICfishWell Known MemberMember

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to the hobby but I've become so obsessed that I got two tanks within a matter of months :)

I'm planning to get the 50 gallon Seaclear acrylic tank (acrylic because I'm a fairly small person and it would be much lighter) with the Marineland Penguin Bio-wheel filters (I currently use them and really like how clear the water is). I'm moving my gouramis and tetras to this tank and plan to add blue rams and possibly discus (but since they're so expensive I haven't quite decided).

I would be grateful if anyone could advise me on how many filters I should get with what capacity. I have also not seen the Seaclear tanks in person so I'm not sure how the filter slots work either. I would truly appreciate any advise or insight.

Thank you.

2. Meenu

MeenuFishlore VIPMember

I have a seaclear acrylic tank (30g). The top is molded, but there's plenty of space for filters. I wanted one hole a little bigger, and my husband was easily able to cut it with a dremel without it compromising the integrity of the tank.
    With a tank that size, you may want to reconsider and get a canister filter. They are pricey, but so are 2 HOBs. They are really efficient, and you can use loose media of your choice.
    welcome to FL, and enjoy the forum. :)

3. OP
    OP
    L

LICfishWell Known MemberMember

Thank you

Thank you for your quick reply. Everyone on the forum has been great :)

I also considered the canister filters but the capacity, by that I mean the GHP, didn't seem to be different so I originally thought it would make a difference. Thank you for your advice. If it's a canister filter, would one that can filter at 250GHP be sufficient?

I'm still trying to grasp the difference between all these filters so if you have any recommendations for the canister also, I would be grateful.

Thanks again.