Reproducing Babies?

Bree

Reaction score
OK, I am new here and new to being a fish mommy . My daughter decided on guppies to start her tank. The day after we purchased a breeding pair, the male died. She was pretty upset about it. About 1 month after the purchase, we had babies. Being new, I didn't realize that you need to sepaerate the babies and the mom. We lost alot of babies, but still ended up with about 5 total. Tonight, when I went to feed them, to my surprise, we now have about 30 babies. My question is can a baby mate with his mom this early?? They are only about 1 month old. My hubby insists that they have all been hiding in the rocks and we just never noticed them. (Yup, there is a size difference and I will let him believe that to be true). Please help, we are kind of confused! ??? ??? ??? Thanks in advance.

Richard

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Hi and welcome aboard.. I'm no expert on Guppies, but I can tell you there are some livebearers that don't deliver the fry from the same batch at the same time, so while you're left thinking all the fry have been born, days to weeks later you'll suddenly see more.. your husband also has a point.. fry that hide, according to where that hiding place is, may not get as much food as other bigger, faster fry that may hide among plants, giving them first crack at food scraps and thereby helping them to grow faster than the others.. there are many Guppy owners here who'll be able to give you better explanations based on their own experiences though.

atmmachine816

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years