Replacement Bulbs?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Clueless Khuli, Apr 16, 2018.

1. Clueless Khuli

Clueless Khuli New Member Member

Hey guys!

Occasional lurker, first time poster. =) I'm rather new to fish ownership... It's a long story, so I'll keep it short:

I started out caring for my friend's fish (angel fish and pleco) in his 5 gallon tank... Upgraded them to a 20 gallon and added another pleco (yes, I know, bad idea - not making that mistake again), an apple snail, and 3 khuli Loaches... Angel fish died in spite of my efforts... and that's pretty much what I have now.

(Note: I'm just watching his fish; he's coming back in a few months, just can't care for them where he is now)

Now I have a pretty big problem. The light bulb burned out after just a couple of months... and getting a replacement has proven near impossible. X_X The store I bought the tank at will only sell me the hood - or replacement bulbs that won't work...

I've looked through your forums before as I started putting the 20 gallon tank together, and your advice has been immensely helpful! =)

I'm getting desperate in my search for a replacement light, and I hope you guys can help me... I don't have a ton of money to spend, but I'm willing to be a little flexible for the fish.

It's a 15-inch LED light, comes as part of the Top Fin 20 gallon tank set-up.

Any help you guys can offer would be greatly appreciated! =D Thank you!!

2. TexasDomer

TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to Fishlore!

You can get bulbs from a hardware store. Just make sure the wattage works!

What kind of plecos do you have in the 20 gal? I'd rehome both of them - a 20 gal is likely too small for them.

3. OP
    OP
    Clueless Khuli

Wow, really? I didn't think it'd be that easy... Do I need to secure the new light in some way? I don't know if they will fit in the clips set up to hold the old one.