20 Gallon Tank Removed Krib Cichlid Babies Too Soon

Lana1049

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Successfully breeding fish is a great feeling.... and then you get to the part where everything starts to go downhill. So, about two weeks ago, my pair of kribensis cichlids bred and the babies were just free-swimming. This is my first time breeding these fish, however I do have experience with breeding other fish. Long story short, I made a rookie mistake and separated the fry from the parents a week and a half after they hatched, and the fry are fine and dandy, but the parents turned on each other. The female is nipping the male’s fins like crazy, and he’s found a successful hiding spot (for now) in a hole in the driftwood. The fry are fine in their tank, again, but what should I do? I love both of these fish, but I may or may not have ruined it. Is there any way I should add the fry to the tank? I feel that they’ve been away to long from their mom to recognize her. I could separate the male and female, but I would like to work it out as they are very cute together. Thank you guys! (I just want to note that everything I read about these fish said they would be easy to take care of... and this has been anything but that! )

coralbandit

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
She should settle down .
If not separate him and her just for a couple days and give them a try again .
I have seen parents flip out after fry are removed . 1 1/2 weeks is not too soon IMO.
I have had some of my female krib kill males regardless of fry if they are all lit up !
If he is not larger then her by far watch out for him . Remove her from the main tank so he can be the owner of the territory when she comes back .

yukondog

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years