Reliable seller in Canada?

Willow84

Hi All, I live in Northern Ontario in a city that has 2 LFS and a PetSmart. I have now bought 2 nerite snails from LFS and have not had a good time of it. I am pretty sure one is in the process of dying and the other is nowhere to be found, so I hope it is still in the tank! I bought them because I am new to this all and was leaving my tank lights on too long so now have more algae than I would like. I have read about now nerite snails 'eat algae non-stop' but this has so far not been my experience. I am toying with the idea of ordering a couple online - any other Canadians have good luck with a supplier? Thanks!

Betta'sAnonymous

Not Canadian, but have had great success with my nerites from Petco! Just the one incident where the snail escaped and fell on the floor for hours.

So petsmart might be worth a shot. Never looked for them there, myself.

Willow84

Betta'sAnonymous said:
Not Canadian, but have had great success with my nerites from Petco! Just the one incident where the snail escaped and fell on the floor for hours.

So petsmart might be worth a shot. Never looked for them there, myself.
We don't have PetCo and we are in lockdown so PetSmart is not allowed to sell fish right now as only items deemed as 'essential' are able to be sold.

Betta'sAnonymous

Willow84 said:
We don't have PetCo and we are in lockdown so PetSmart is not allowed to sell fish right now as only items deemed as 'essential' are able to be sold.
I forgot about that part. Just read today they can't sell fish because this zebra mussel infestation threat.

Diane 007

Maybe try angelfins in Guelph or 520buce both ship Canada wide. Highly recommended

Chanyi

Angelfins
Shrimp Fever
SKA Shrimp & Nature Aquariums (He is only on FaceBook).

I have had horrible experiences on multiple occasions with 520Buce. He still owes me money / plants going on 2 years now.

Dechi