20 Gallon Tank Reduce smell, cycle tank, new roomates

yoboyjuice

I orinally put this in the Mano tank section but realized this may be a better spot

Hello I am new to the saltwater community though I have been in freshwater for 5~ years keeping planted 240, 60, and 10 gallon aquariums. I’ve moved out of my parents house 6 months ago for university and just renewed my lease at my place and thought it would be a good time to get back into the aquarium hobby this time giving salt water a try. I got 5 brand new roommates this week including one I share a small bedroom with. I wanted to wait a week or so to get to know him before proposing the idea of a fish tank but I saw someone local sell the perfect used aquarium at an awesome price so I’m eager to pick it up before it’s sold. Today I Proposed the idea to my roommate of an aquarium and he said something like “I mean I guess, as long as it doesn’t smell bad.” I said it wouldn’t, that I thought of that and I’ll buy a lid carbon air freshener etc and it wont be a problem. I then said something like “okay so this is your chance to say no, are you okay if I set up an aquarium?” and he said okay, but I could tell he still wasn’t thrilled. I personally have a horrible sense of smell abd have my whole life so I called my parents and friend who kept aquariums and asked if smell was ever a concern and they said they never noticed. I plan to double check with him in the morning and then go pick up the aquarium. The seller has emptied it except for some sand and water as he’s upgrading to a larger tank.
that’s the background now here are my questions/concerns
My biggest concern is the smell and cost. I don’t want to Invest 500-1000+ on a 20 gallon tank only to upset a roomate whom I’ll live with for at least a year or have to sell/lose lots of money on a tank.