Redsea Max 250?

Discussion in 'Saltwater Beginners' started by Reeferxbetta, Dec 10, 2017.

1. Reeferxbetta

ReeferxbettaWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +525
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years
    I just purchased a Redsea Max 250, and am going to be setting it up very soon, I am transferring from a 40 breeder with only a HOB filter, and HOB skimmer, so this is quite a bit different than what I'm used to. I just wanted to get anyone's thoughts on this tank, advice with maintenance, etc.

2. stella1979

stella1979ModeratorModerator Member

Ratings:
    +9,577
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years
    Congratulations!!! That's very exciting. I have no experience with these tanks, or sumps for that matter, but I'm very excited to see a RedSea build here. They are beautiful tanks and I've heard good things about them.

I know that if I had a larger sumped tank, I would want to maximize the refugium, both for nutrient export and for a healthy pod population, which would help to host some of my favorite fish. Perhaps if you share your current setup and goals with the new tank, we can all be more helpful and learn through your experience. Please consider making this your build thread and keeping us all updated.

3. OP
    OP
    Reeferxbetta

Ratings:
    +525
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years
    Thanks! I will maybe make a build thread, seems like it could be helpful to get some other ideas for the tank. I am looking to see if anyone else has the tank, as I would like to get some advice on the built in filter/sump the tank has. They are something I'm totally not familiar with.

4. stella1979

Ratings:
    +9,577
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years