Red Tail Shark and Gold Spot pleco (dwarf)

Neophyte

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Hello,

As I am new to the whole larger fish keeping and just recently set up my tank (1.5 months ago), I just had a question about my Red Tail Shark and the little pleco guy. So as we know the red tail sharks are pretty territorial, my shark chases away any fish in my tank who tries to get it's food or even tries to swim around it's the wooden log which the shark has taken for his "home". It chases out all fish entering or swimming around the wooden log; however, the funny part is, it never bothers the little pleco guy. I've got a dwarf gold spot pleco who enters the log, eats the shark's pellets but the shark has never tried to chase him around or even nip him. why is that? I know this question is no life threatening to any fish but I am purely curious.

hampalong

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
It knows its aggression would have no effect on a heavily armoured fish that will fight back.

Btw, there's no such thing as a 'dwarf' gold spot plec. It will grow over a foot long.

Neophyte

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Hi hampalong, thanks for your answer.. I think I may be using a wrong name for my pleco then.. It's a very small pleco and I remember this one grows up to 6 inches only. I should have caught the name from it's sticker when i got this guy but I remember reading it's maximum size 6". It's black with little spots on it's body and always stuck to the glass or the log.

aliray

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Sounds like a standard bristle nose pleco. Welcome to the forum and glad you're here. Alison

Aichmalotizo

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started