Red Plants Not Staying Red

danhutchins

Well Known
So, I have been keeping fish in a planted tank for about 5 years now and decided to get some red plants to break up all the green in the tank. My issue is that the red plants just turn green. I dose iron and have high light but honestly I'm unsure how much iron I should dose. I'm using Dustins Fishtank iron. I also use Dustins Fishtank all in one liquid fertilizer. Lights are on for 6 hours a day because any longer and I get crazy algae in just a couple days. Co2 comes on when lights come on and goes out when lights go out. All other plants are doing great just can't figure out the red ones.

Oh and for some reason the app is not working for me. I can't see threads or posts when I sign in any ideas would help

Oh and for some reason the app is not working for me. I can't see threads or posts when I sign in any ideas would help
Figured out the app issue. Still waiting for help with the plants.

Annie59

Well Known
Sounds to me you need higher lighting is all. What kind of lighting do you have?

-Mak-

Fishlore VIP
Agree, what is the light, tank size, and tank height? Red is mostly caused by high light

Wraithen

Fishlore VIP
I find it odd that you have co2 and can only run 6 hours of light. Unless your lights are 80 or above in the par department, I'm wondering if your co2 isn't a high enough concentration.

Red plants are indeed more about lighting than excessive iron.

What plants are in the tank?

OP
D

danhutchins

Well Known
Sounds to me you need higher lighting is all. What kind of lighting do you have?
I'm getting around 90 PAR with the lights I have. I doubt its lighting. I have a finnex planted plus 24/7 and a beamswork full spectrum.

I find it odd that you have co2 and can only run 6 hours of light. Unless your lights are 80 or above in the par department, I'm wondering if your co2 isn't a high enough concentration.

Yup around 90 PAR for lighting

Yup around 90 PAR for lighting