75 Gallon Tank Red Parrot, South American Puffer, Electric Blue Jack Dempsey?

tcallais

Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Hi All,

This is my first post. I have a couple of years of experience and am comfortable with basic set up of aquariums, etc.

I am setting up a 75 gallon aquarium and have a question about semi-aggressive fish. I am used to goldfish and more peaceful fish but I am new to setting up a more aggressive tank but have fallen in love with the look of some of the more aggressive fish and want to ask a question about compatibility.

The 75 gallon tank has been going for two months now with a weather loach that is about 5 inches long, a red parrot cichlid that is around 3-4 inches long, and a clown loach that is about 5-6 inches long. Each of these three have been alive for a year in a smaller tank and I have moved them to a bigger tank.

I want to know if I can add two south american puffers and an electric blue jack dempsey? I am also potentially interested in adding one more red parrot cichlid. This would be the absolute max number of fish I would put in here unless they were bottom dwellers or something.

Can I do this? As additional information, I am aware that South American puffers grow teeth very quickly and have trimmed teeth before. However, I am putting a number of smaller snails in the tank as food for the clown loach but also the puffers (as I have been told that this helps to dull the puffers teeth).

What do people think? Words can not express how much respect I have for this website. I am a relative newbie (2 years experience) but I would describe myself as more than a hobbyist. I have a 55, a 75, and a 20 and currently live in an apartment. However I have already put money aside and plan to buy a 250 gallon tank (maybe 300 if I find the right deal) when I buy a house in about 2 years.

Thanks in advance

Shawnie

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
welcome to fishlore!!!!!!!!