Red Cherry Shrimp Steadily Dying

yom

Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I have about 200 RCS in a 40 gallon tank, no tank mates. It's got 3 large pieces of driftwood in there, a fair amount of vegetation. 10% water change every other day.

They're molting fine (in fact, but they don't seem to be eating their molt).
Every day I see about 3 to 5 dead ones and I'm totally out of ideas!

Water parameters:
79.34F
6.5pH
0ppm Ammonia
0ppm Nitrites
~5.0ppm Nitrates

Yves

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I am no expert but from what I have read I think your changing your water way to often, a weekly water change would be sufficient, make sure the water you are adding is the same temp as the water you removed, shrimp can be sensitive to water changes. I not sure if you are using sponge filters in your tank but every shrimp person I watch on YouTube is using sponge.

OP
yom

yom

Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Anders247 said:
How long have you had them?
Do you know your KH and GH levels?
I've had the first batch (around 110) for 26 days, second batch (around 80) for 18 days.
Don't know my KH and GH levels, but they're molting normally. Also to add to the headache, I have about 20 in a QT that I haven't been able to extract, and they're living perfectly fine with the same water conditions (hardness included).

Yves said:
I am no expert but from what I have read I think your changing your water way to often, a weekly water change would be sufficient, make sure the water you are adding is the same temp as the water you removed, shrimp can be sensitive to water changes. I not sure if you are using sponge filters in your tank but every shrimp person I watch on YouTube is using sponge.
Yes on the sponge filter, I read that about WC as well, but the warning was not to do large ones frequently. The consensus was smaller ones frequently.

Anders247

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years