Red cherry shrimp death

michaelsf90

I'm new to keeping shrimp. I've had ten red cherry shrimp for around 4 months now. They havent bred yet. I have tights over the filter to reduce flow and to not suck any fry up. Anyway when doing a water change today I noticed a shrimp upside down in my carpet plant not moving. Touched it and again nothing. So I'm guessing its died. Tested the water. Ph is 7.4. Ammonia is 0. Nitrite is 0. Gh is 4 and kh is 2. All other nine shrimp are alive and fine. Anyone any ideas?

Attachments

• 20210523_205511.jpg
    20210523_205511.jpg
    155.5 KB · Views: 30
  • 20210523_202758.jpg
    20210523_202758.jpg
    299.7 KB · Views: 30

cdw202x

I started out with 7 cherry shrimp back in November 2020. I more or less left mine alone and sooner or later, they started to multiply. Now I estimate that I have about 30. Note that I am not culling any so they will never be anything fancy, either.

Anyway, my thoughts, in no particular order:
  1. Your shrimp are all the same sex
  2. Get a WECO shell for your tank. I have heard these make your water more hospitable for invertibares-- increasing water clarity and calcium for shell building . (I use 1 small one every three weeks or so)
  3. Maybe your nitrates are too high? (you didn't mention them in your posting) I have found that shrimp are like fish-- best >20 ppm nitrates.
  4. Keep your tank between 75 and 82. (you didn't mention a temp in the above)
  5. Add (boiled) IAL. The red cherry shrimp I have love to eat these things. I usually keep two large ones in the 10 gallon tank all the time for them to munch on, removing and replacing with a fresh leaf when it's just the skeleton
  6. Provide shelters (like small coconut huts or hideaways) that the shrimp can retreat to if needed. Also, add lots of free floating live plants. Java ferns work well for this.