Recommended focal fish?????

1. t

tropics New Member Member

Here's my dilemma. My goal for my main tank is to have two or three discus, 4 platinum blue fin angels, my pleco, and my school of rummy nose tetras. I am fairly new to the hobby and don't think I'm ready for the the discus because of their sensitivity. Can anyone recommend a fish of similar size I can put in place of the discus??? I've done a fair amount of research and have come up empty so far. I really liked these disc tetras I found but they get to big for my tank. I was also thinking about silver dollars but my tank is in a high traffic area so they would just be scared all the time. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

2. J

JoannaB Well Known Member Member

That's for your 55 gallon right? Aren't the angelfish the focal fish already? Four angelfish and a common pleco and a school of tetra in a 55 gallon tank is I believe too much already. If I understand correctly your angelfish may grow to be six inches in size each, and the common pleco may grow to be a foot or two in length. So once those grow up, I believe you will need to get a bigger tank - someone else please correct me if I am wrong.

3. QQQUUUUAADDD

QQQUUUUAADDD Well Known Member Member

The angels will be fine but I wouldn't get 4. The common pleco needs to be rehomed as it will quickly outgrow your tank.

4. OP
    OP
    t

If all goes well I do plan to add a bigger tank so he can be moved into there.

5. OP
    OP
    t

I suppose the angels would be more then enough.... I was just so focused on replacing my very much wanted discus. They will come with time though.

6. kinezumi89

kinezumi89 Fishlore VIP Member