Recommended focal fish?????

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by tropics, Nov 25, 2012.

1. tropicsNew MemberMember

Here's my dilemma. My goal for my main tank is to have two or three discus, 4 platinum blue fin angels, my pleco, and my school of rummy nose tetras. I am fairly new to the hobby and don't think I'm ready for the the discus because of their sensitivity. Can anyone recommend a fish of similar size I can put in place of the discus??? I've done a fair amount of research and have come up empty so far. I really liked these disc tetras I found but they get to big for my tank. I was also thinking about silver dollars but my tank is in a high traffic area so they would just be scared all the time. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

2. JoannaBWell Known MemberMember

That's for your 55 gallon right? Aren't the angelfish the focal fish already? Four angelfish and a common pleco and a school of tetra in a 55 gallon tank is I believe too much already. If I understand correctly your angelfish may grow to be six inches in size each, and the common pleco may grow to be a foot or two in length. So once those grow up, I believe you will need to get a bigger tank - someone else please correct me if I am wrong.

3. QQQUUUUAADDD

QQQUUUUAADDDWell Known MemberMember

The angels will be fine but I wouldn't get 4. The common pleco needs to be rehomed as it will quickly outgrow your tank.

4. OP
    OP
    t

tropicsNew MemberMember

If all goes well I do plan to add a bigger tank so he can be moved into there.

5. OP
    OP
    t

tropicsNew MemberMember

I suppose the angels would be more then enough.... I was just so focused on replacing my very much wanted discus. They will come with time though.

6. kinezumi89

kinezumi89Fishlore VIPMember