Recommended contents of aquarium medicine cabinet to have on hand

LyleB

I just getting back into the hobby. I live in a small town with a very limited aquarium supply shop that is usually out of what I need. The closest Petsmart or LFS is a half hour away. The problem is, I work as a Paramedic, and often work multiple 24 hour shifts, so often I cannot leave town for several days at a time.

What meds would you all recommend I keep on hand, in case they are needed immediately? I assume an anti-fungal, and antibiotic. Any suggestions for good broad spectrum choices? Any other suggestions? If Ick rears it's head, I would probably try the natural methods. Any other suggestions?

Cichlidnut

Maracyn 1 and 2 would be good things to have. Try ordering from amazon.com, usually have good prices and fast shipping. I live in a small town as well and order most of my stuff.

Eienna

-Maracyn 1 and 2
-Kanamycin (sometimes under the name of Kanacyn) or Furan-2 for Columnaris (you won't have time to order meds if this strikes so have them handy)
-Tetra Parasite Guard
-Levamisole HCL or Fenbendazole (Levamisole's probably the safer choice) for Camallanus Worms (a dangerous parasite which does not respond to most parasite medications)
-The instructions for the natural treatment of ich you can find in this section of the forum
-Maroxy for true fungal infections (those not treated by the Maracyns)
-Seachem Stress Guard or Kordon Fish Protector for transport and/or wound antiseptic
-Seachem Prime water conditioner.

That's all I can think of right now.

Eienna

And a quarantine tank with filter and some extra media kept in your filter.

ryanr

A kind of similar threads:
Betta food and medicine cabinet shopping list

The Fishkeeper's Warchest

I don't actually keep med's on hand. Please check each med you plan on keeping. Some (not all) have expiration dates/shelf lifes, these should only be purchased if they are needed.