Recommendations Please.

1. nado1978 Initiate Member

Hello, I am planning to put together a 75 gal fowdr setup. I already have The tank And am planning on building a DIY stand. I would like to use a sump.

Ok here goes......what size sump would i need for a tank this size? Will i need to drill The tank or can i run lines ”pex tubing” from The top?

What equipment is neccesarry....i plan on running The following equipment. Protein skimmer, 3 powerheads, heater, compact flourecent with actinic And moon lighting.

What other equipment is mandatory?

Will my dry rock turn into live rock, if so how long will thia take?

I am new to The SW side Of fish ownership And realize The Work And money that is involved, i have been doing a lot Of research. Thank god for fishlore ; )

Please let me know all your thoughts And or concerns.

2. ryanr Moderator Moderator Member

Hi nado, welcome to Fishlore :;hi2

There is no minimum/recommended sump size, just what you can get in your cabinet/area. The bigger the better as it adds volume and more space to put equipment.

Drilling the tank is probably preferable, but you can run tubing with a drain and return line. If you're going to drill, be very careful of the base. The bases are typically tempered glass, and shatter/crack easily. Be sure to only use diamond tip hole saws, and maybe search youtube for 'drilling a fishtank', there's some great videos on there.

As for necessary equipment, you'll also need a return pump to get water back to the display tank, and some plumbing bits and pieces (depends on the setup as to what you'll need)

What about testing equipment? Refractometer/Hydrometer for checking specific gravity/salinity. Basic marine test kits such as the API Saltwater Master (high range pH, ammonia, nitrite, nitrate), you could also look at Carbonate Hardness [Alkalinity] (though more relevant for corals)