really confused Help

1. gonzo127

gonzo127 Member Member

Ratings:
    +2
    hi again all

ok just had another random death in my tank and getting really confused

right i have been restocking my tank for the past 2-3 months now after a mass death at the hands of a 17 year olds party

in this time i keep on losing the 'odd' fish here and there which what appears to be bloat, my most recent casualty is a male guppie i have had for about 2 months. previous ones include a Panda Cory ~1 month and a Dwarf Gourami ~ 1 month - this was the last of the 'old fish'

now i am a fanatical about water quality and do not let it get out of hand and it very rarely goes above 15ppm on Nitrates and is always 0 for nitrite and ammonia and i usually do at least a 25% water change weekly

i have changed the food i put in the tank too hikari algae wafers and tetra pro flakes and put in the odd bit of garlic and cucumber in every now and then for a change.

now i am just wondering if there is anything people could think of which might be causing these random deaths to what appear to be healthy fish ~ only noticed the guppie was ill yesterday and is dead today other than that has been a wonderful active guy.

really any thoughts would be helpful at the moment as i really do not want to either lose any of the other guys or get someone else just to lose them

2. Diggly

Diggly Well Known Member Member

Ratings:
    +4
    I am so sorry you lost your fish, the only other thing I can think of is ph, is the ph in the tank the same as your tap water?

3. soccermatt

soccermatt Member Member

Ratings:
    +0
    sorry to hear about your fish, i can't really think of any reason why your fish keep on dying but i quite a beginner. I have a friend who kept on buying fish from a store that always seemed to be sick. maybe it could be where you buy your fish?

4. TedsTank

TedsTank Well Known Member Member

Ratings:
    +45
    What about your water temps??