really confused Help

1. gonzo127 Member Member

hi again all

ok just had another random death in my tank and getting really confused

right i have been restocking my tank for the past 2-3 months now after a mass death at the hands of a 17 year olds party

in this time i keep on losing the 'odd' fish here and there which what appears to be bloat, my most recent casualty is a male guppie i have had for about 2 months. previous ones include a Panda Cory ~1 month and a Dwarf Gourami ~ 1 month - this was the last of the 'old fish'

now i am a fanatical about water quality and do not let it get out of hand and it very rarely goes above 15ppm on Nitrates and is always 0 for nitrite and ammonia and i usually do at least a 25% water change weekly

i have changed the food i put in the tank too hikari algae wafers and tetra pro flakes and put in the odd bit of garlic and cucumber in every now and then for a change.

now i am just wondering if there is anything people could think of which might be causing these random deaths to what appear to be healthy fish ~ only noticed the guppie was ill yesterday and is dead today other than that has been a wonderful active guy.

really any thoughts would be helpful at the moment as i really do not want to either lose any of the other guys or get someone else just to lose them

2. Diggly Well Known Member Member

I am so sorry you lost your fish, the only other thing I can think of is ph, is the ph in the tank the same as your tap water?

3. soccermatt Member Member

sorry to hear about your fish, i can't really think of any reason why your fish keep on dying but i quite a beginner. I have a friend who kept on buying fish from a store that always seemed to be sick. maybe it could be where you buy your fish?

4. TedsTank Well Known Member Member

What about your water temps??
    If you would please fill in all your tank information....sometimes can be very helpful for us, to get a mental picture of your systems.