Realistic Looking Plants?

dartzy

Not sure if this is the right area to post this but I'm struggling with a decision and that's whether to go with real plants vs plastic for my 20h tank. Since, I'm a newbie to the hobby and no very little about live plants in a tank...

My question is, if I go fake, what brands LOOK the most real?? Wanna try for a more realistic looking tank. Looking for reviews here...

Katie13

The type of fish you have/want makes a difference in the best type(s) of plants as well as numerous other factors. For example, I love my planted tanks, but with my betta tanks recieving little light other than LEDs, real plants aren't really an option. Another example would be my Melanochromis Auratus tank. My Auratus would dig up any live plants seeing as they are generally herbivores. They're tank is just a gravel base with natural slate. What fish are you wanting?

GlamCrab

You can't go more realistic then real plants.
I personally like how my real plants look.. and I'm also a newbie to plants.

For awhile I had a mix of real and fake plants but now its all real plants.. some of the fake plants were magnets for poop and other garbage. The other got suspicious marks that looked like rust.
So I removed them.

ashenwelt

So, real plants are way less work. You don't clean them. You pay less for them. And they clean the water. And you can chose those you need based on your light level. Heck low light is the norm here.

I won't have a pointless tank. Also some plants simply float.

Katie13

I figured I'd add that in the beginning, live plants cost more than most fake plants, but live plants multiply causing them to end up costing less.

ashenwelt

Katie13 said:
I figured I'd add that in the beginning, live plants cost more than most fake plants, but live plants multiply causing them to end up costing less.