Re-tanking Goldfish

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by TinySwimmer, Feb 13, 2018.

  1. TinySwimmer

    TinySwimmerValued MemberMember

    Messages:
    60
    Ratings:
    +6
    If that makes any sense.
    I have a spare fish tank (240 litres) that I plan on moving my fish into today.
    I’m petrified because it’s a completely different tank/set up (my current tank has built in trickle down filter with 2 media cartridges and a filter sponge) but the new one just has a stick on filter that you stick on the side of the tank (inside) and the water shoots out of about 10 small holes.
    How can I move them immediately without killing them?
    I could shove my current filter sponge inside the new filter (which has a small bag of something, maybe carbon rings) but I wouldn’t have anywhere to put my current cartridges.
    Will my current filter sponge, along with the new filter media be enough to instantly cycle my new tank?
    If not, I’ll leave them where they are.
    Thank you
     
  2. MikeRad89

    MikeRad89Well Known MemberMember

    Messages:
    3,028
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rhode Island, USA
    Ratings:
    +1,435
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years
    Please post pictures of the new filter.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    TinySwimmer

    TinySwimmerValued MemberMember

    Messages:
    60
    Ratings:
    +6
    972c8dcdd232ff4f7bb0f553d5950917.706d0d51fdbcbb39dcfc28e02c52eb9e.
     
  4. MikeRad89

    MikeRad89Well Known MemberMember

    Messages:
    3,028
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rhode Island, USA
    Ratings:
    +1,435
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years
    Way too small of a filter to handle the waste production of goldfish. Putting your current media in it will give you an instant cycle per say, but I can’t imagine the flow rate is high enough in that filter to being the waste on contact with the media as much as it needs to be
     
  5. Galathiel

    GalathielWell Known MemberMember

    Messages:
    1,893
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1,045
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    I would wait until you get a different filter for the new tank and then move your goldfish over. Do you still have your 2 moors? Understand, that you will still need to do largish weekly water changes even though you increase the volume of your tank. I think they would appreciate the new tank once its ready!
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Absolutely Traumatized By My Filter Filters and Filtration Wednesday at 2:55 PM
Sick Goldfish, Using Your Template Freshwater Fish Disease Wednesday at 8:01 AM
40b Build Tanking Its Time Freshwater Aquarium Builds Sep 7, 2018
Re-tanking My 55 Corner To A 90 Gallon Seaclear And Changing Stock Freshwater Aquarium Builds Mar 28, 2018
New To Tanking And New To Fishlore :-) Freshwater Beginners Dec 13, 2017
Tanking stock instead of stocking tank Aquarium Stocking Questions Jul 19, 2015
Angelfish re-tanking questions... Angelfish Nov 26, 2014








Become a Fishlore Member