?? Re: Apistogramma, inbreeding & Size difference

tnrsmomma

Hi! I have a few questions, so i apologize in advance for this being long and appreciate any infoor advice you can give me. I am new to breeding apistos and to breeding fish in general. I bought 3 juveniles and one adult male cacatuoides at the lfs last week, that all came from the same breeder. I figure it's safe to assume that the juveniles are siblings and the adult may be related as well. The dominant juvie male and the female seem to have paired off. I am 90% sure the 3rd juvie is a subdom male. The dominant male chases him away and occasionally the female chases him too. All 3 little ones are still in QT together at the moment, but I've ordered a divider for the tank. The adult male is separate. I also have a female I bought at a different lfs 4 or 5 months ago, who I'm guessing is around 8 or nine months old. She was just shy of an inch when we got her and is about 1.5 inches now.

I've noticed that most lfs' sell them as pairs and some people seem to buy multiple fish in one batch and see which ones pair off naturally from that group. I assume that often, the fish bought all from one batch, from a local breeder are siblings. Is it common practice to let siblings pair off and breed? Does it result in degradation of quality or health in the offspring?

Another question. I have yet to find a source for "breed standards" aka a specific description of what good quality cockatoo apisto looks and acts like. I would like to know that before allowing my fish to spawn. Any sources you can recommend?

If they are good enough to breed, who do I breed to whom? my current options are:

1. put the dominant juvenile male with my original female to see if they pair up.

2. Put the dominant juvie male and juvie female in with my original female for a small harem.