Raw Newbie here

Discussion in 'Welcome to FishLore' started by Merri68, Jul 11, 2015.

1. Merri68

Merri68Valued MemberMember

Hello I 'm Merri.

I sort of fell into fish keeping a few months ago. I have cats, and as winters in my area of the USA are very long, I decided to get "the furkids" a fish tank to keep them entertained. They made the transition from drooling over the birds in the yard (from behind the security of a window), to sitting for hours in front of the tank. The fish don't seem to mind the feline noseprints on the glass. In fact, I have two fish who stare right back at 'em. .

I started out with two goldfish in a twenty gallon tank. The furkids loved them, and quite soon, so did I. But the goldfish started growing, and I could see that a 20 gallon tank was to them, like being stuck in a broom closet. They needed more space.

That's when I started to read, and found out my concerns for them were valid. A bigger tank was in order.

About that time I suddenly lost two of my four cats, one to sudden illness, the second dying of grief at the loss of the first.

So now I was down to two furkids, and two little goldfish faces staring out at me from a too-small tank.

I decided to increase my goldies' tank to a 55 gallon. Yes, they do have names: Sparky and The Flash. Sparky is a calico fancy female, and The Flash is a tangerine colored male. Yeah, I named my fish.. I'm an ol lady so humor me, please

So now the goldies were in a big tank, with plenty of room to swim, at least for a while. I added a common pleco (which will soon be re-homed, as I now know he's going to become a REALLY big boy, pretty quick. My bad for not doing homework before buying! )

I have added 10 zebra danios to the tank, so the goldies would have something to do besides beg for food. They seem to enjoy " the 'lil guys" and everyone gets along quite well.. All fins are intact and the tank is pleasantly active.