Raising A Baby’s Female Betta With An Adult Male

Reefer guy
Hey guys and gals, first post. Just some background on myself, I’ve been keeping reef tanks for almost 2 years now, so I have a pretty good idea of basic husbandry. Now, onto my question. I’ve had a fluval spec 5 gallon setup for about 2 months now with a male Betta. Yesterday, I bought a baby female, and put it inside of a ~.5 gallon critter carrier inside of the fluval spec. I have the critter carrier higher up so that the water line is near the top. I keep the lid open during the day for better gas exchange, and close it at night so the baby doesn’t escape into main tank. I always make sure that there is a solid layer of air at the top, and there’s are slits in the top sides for water flow and gas exchange. I want to breed these 2 eventually, so I thought that raising the female with the male could possibly reduce aggression in the future. Male is interested in the female, but doesn’t seem stressed, and isn’t flaring very much or aggressively. I did a 30% wc yesterday and plan on doing those every other day. I guess I was wondering if the baby hormone will affect the male at all. Any other insight welcome. Tia

KimberlyG
Welcome to fishlore!
She needs her own tank. When mature, you will want them to see each by putting the tanks side by side. You do not want her in that tank now.

Reefer guy
Welcome to fishlore!
She needs her own tank. When mature, you will want them to see each by putting the tanks side by side. You do not want her in that tank now.