Dismiss Notice
Hi there! You are currently viewing the forum as a guest. To log in, go here.

To become a member please register here.

Quick Question About Nitrites Question

Discussion in 'Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle' started by Zai, Mar 24, 2019.

1. ZaiValued MemberMember

I'm doing an in fish cycle (bc I'm a newbie and didn't know better) and just got to the point where my ammonia was showing up 0 about 3-4 days ago. I got a nitrite reading of maybe .2 about 5 days ago but haven't gotten one yet.

How long does it take for nitrites to make an appearance?

I'd been doing 50%water changes every morning I got .5 ammonia readings, and then did another 50% yesterday bc my readings for ammonia were at .25 for 3 days without changing and I wanted to get rid of the residual ammonia. I dose with prime each water change, treating for the whole 20gal tank instead of just the water in replacing bc I read somewhere that you should do that.
    Now in wondering if I should only be treating for the water I replace?

I'm so clueless but I'm glad my ammonias stopped spiking

2. TheBettaSushiWell Known MemberMember

I used zebra danios to cycle my tank. As long as you’re using extremely hardy fish, it will be fine. When my nitrites spiked to 1, I did a 30% water change in my 6 gallon. However, I was dosing prime (for the full 6 gallons) every 24-48 hours when I didn’t do a water change. It took about a week for my nitrites to turn into nitrates. As for ammonia turning into nitrites, it took over a month for it to show up on my tank. Every tank is different so it usually depends. Your tank should be cycled after a month or so (in my case it took two) but you’re almost there if you’re seeing nitrites. Some people will have a different opinion about this, but I’m just giving you my experience on what worked for me.