Questions while starting a new 22 gallon aquascape

Mark2621

I'm starting a new 22 gallon long aquascape. I plan to stock it with only 2-3 German Blue Rams. This is my first time using CO2, so I have a lot of questions about this tank and cycling it.

• I bought 18L of ADA AQUA SOIL - AMAZONIA VER. 2 -- is that enough for 22 gallon long?
  • Should I put down a layer of "ADA POWER SAND ADVANCE" under the Aqua Soil? ADA Power Sand Advance
  • Do I need root tabs from the beginning?
  • Should I start my CO2 from the beginning as soon as I put the plants in? I'm using only mini dwarf hairgrass to create a carpet.
  • I'm afraid that Aquasoil has a ton of nutrients and I want to avoid Algae spikes. Do I need to add Ammonia in a bottle to start my fishless cycle faster? Or just rely on the Ammonia created from the Aqua Soil?
  • Should I doseSeachem stability every couple of days?
  • I read with ADA Aqua Soil I should do daily water changes for first week, every other day for second week, and 2-3 times a week for the third week. Is that a good plan?
  • This is my CO2 tank for now. It's more for beginners, but if things are going well with my Scape I'll buy a real Cylinder/Regulator in a month or two. Aquario NEO CO2 - DIY CO2 Kit
  • Can I rely on the drop checker alone to make sure that CO2 levels are correct?
  • I plan to run the light only 3-5 hours a day at first while cycling. Suggestions?

My primary reason for starting over and creating a brand new tank with CO2 is to try to fix the algae issuse I've had for the last year since I started this hobby. Algae is making the hobby not so fun for me so I'm trying really hard to resolve it. Any tips on this would be appreciated.

IndusNoir

I'm not an expert on this, so take what I say with a grain of salt, but I did fairly recently start my 60 gallon with Tropica Aquarium Soil, so I can share what I experienced.
I know nothing about CO2 and don't use it, so I won't touch on that.