Questions for the Moderators

1. Chuck Wheat Member Member

So I'm curious about how this site runs. I've posted certain things to beginners forum, because I'm a beginner, and not long after it is moved to another and less likely to be seen area.

If I have questions about lights or substrate or plants, I know by now to post those in the appropriate places. However, my last thread was about a possible baby shrimp or some type of insect that I'm not aware of and now its located under Snails, where I'm sure there are far less people checking out and its less likely to be addressed. If nothing else, it should have been placed in a subcategory of Identification or something...if that even exists on here, I dunno cause I'm still fairly new and haven't searched every avenue of the site. Which is why I post primarily in the beginner forum.

The title had the word "hitchhiker" in it, so I am curious to know if keywords cause certain threads to be automatically moved or if there are just a lot of moderators that work diligently to organize the threads? Awhile back I posted in the beginners forum asking beginner questions about stocking and realized later that it had been moved to a stocking forum that I didn't know existed on here at the time. That doesn't really bother me because if I'd known it was there I would have posted it there; but I've seen other stocking threads in the beginners forum for days upon days and sometimes longer without being moved...so I'm wondering if the amount of comments a post is getting affects why it isn't moved, which in turn makes me wonder if I would get more informative responses if my posts weren't shuffled around so quickly.

Are any other new (or old) users noticing this? Please let me know so that I'm not feeling so paranoid and sad. :(