Questions about water conditioner and salt for a freshwater tank

ErinO
HI all. I looked for the answers to these questions, but I couldn't find anything. I'm just learning how to utilize a forum (I'm not tech savvy at all), so I apologize if these are repeat questions.

Some background info:

I have a 10 gallon tank (I have just found out that 10 gallons is not the wisest choice for a beginner). It is an Aqueon kit that has a biofilter, heater, and LED hood. We were told that we could set it up and let the water "stabilize for 48 hours" before we got fish, which we did. (After reading a lot of threads on this forum today, I have come to the realization that I shouldn't have gotten the fish yet. Also, no, I didn't research the fish that I got as thoroughly as I thought I did.) We have two Platys and a Serpae Tetra. They are playing well together so far. I hope that continues. I know that are schooling fish and that they may not do well with so few of each kind. We have been testing the water twice a day using the API Freshwater Master Test Kit. Ammonia has been between 1 and 2, Nitrites at .25 and Nitrates at 0-5. We have been doing twice daily water changes to try to get the ammonia lowered.

Now for my questions:

I've been reading that a lot of people use Prime as a water conditioner. We have been using the Aqueon water conditioner. Should we switch to Prime, or are we ok if we stick with the Aqueon?

We were told to add aquarium salt, but I have read that it is a bad idea to do so. What are your thoughts?

I would also welcome any other thoughts you all may have that may be helpful for a successful aquarium.
Thank you

fishydudez
HI all. I looked for the answers to these questions, but I couldn't find anything. I'm just learning how to utilize a forum (I'm not tech savvy at all), so I apologize if these are repeat questions.

Some background info: