20 Gallon Tank Questions about fish and stocking...

Aysu

Hi all,

I’m very new to the aquarium scene, and while I am greatly enjoying it so far, I have a lot of questions that seem to have conflicting answers depending on where I look and who I talk to. I’ve been trying to do research online, but I’ve already made some boneheaded mistakes, though thankfully no catastrophic ones. My lesson has been learned about boiling driftwood before adding it to a tank.

I have a twenty gallon tank freshwater tank that I believe (fingers crossed) is now properly cycled. It isn’t much to look at, yet, but I’m pretty proud of it. It's about 4 weeks old with live java moss spreading across my driftwood tree, and a java fern happily growing (I just pulled a new fern off the original and weighted it to the substrate!). I'll probably transplant some dwarf hair grass from my mom's tank once hers spreads a little more. I've been doing tests every 2-3 days, and the chemicals all seem in balance even after stocking a few hardy fish, with the ammonia and nitrite holding at 0 mg/L, and the nitrate roughly at 5-10mg/L. I do weekly water changes of about 20%. I haven’t vacuumed the gravel yet because I read that it's important to let the bacteria get established in it, but I plan to do that once a month or so.

Currently, I have 3 zebra danios and 2 corydora catfish. I didn't realize that both zebras and cories should be in a school of at least 5 or 6, but the zebras seem happy swimming around the tank, darting in and out of the driftwood and fern, and across the tank and back. They aren’t keeping each other from eating, they aren’t harassing each other or the cories, and I have seen no signs of aggression, stress, or biting; the only odd thing is that they only school if I’ve been sticking my arm in the water to adjust the plants. I read that it's common for zebras to not school if there are no predators in the tank, which makes sense, but some confirmation would be appreciated.