Question Regarding Tap Water And Water Changes

JaredK511

Reaction score
Hello all,

New to these forums but I've been keeping fish for over 10 years to great success. I'm very diligent about doing water changes and keeping my water quality very high for my fish but I've recently come into what seems to be a reoccurring issue.

I moved to a new apartment about 2 months ago and I'm convinced there's something up with my tap water. I live in Southern California and I know the water is very hard here (every time I take a shower my skin always feels drier than when I came in). 2 weeks ago I did a 50% water change on my 10 gallon and 5 mins later I noticed all my fish were dying or about to die as they were swimming erratically and gasping for air/turning pale. That turned out to be chlorine poisoning as I did not add enough Prime to the tap which came out of my bathroom faucet. The water company had done some maintenance which I guess caused the chlorine levels to be higher than usual. Since then I've dosed Prime even higher than usual just to be safe.