Question on Seachem Phosguard

brookem

So I've been dealing with a diatom problem for a little longer than I anticipated and I watched this video saying that phosguard works great with this issue. But I'm just not sure If i'd be eligible to use it? Does this product only work well with canister filters (I'm a beginner and I have literally no idea how canister filters work I kinda just assumed the guy in the video planned on placing his phosguard in a canister filter) or can I place it in my HOB filter too?

MacZ

Diatoms are connected to silica, not to phosphates. Very popular misconception.
Do you even know your phosphate and silica levels? What else have you tried?

Also, if your tank is running less than a year and/or not very densely planted diatoms are completely normal and won't go away by just removing something from the water. In case of a new-ish tank they usually go away by themselves.

brookem

No I don’t own a test to measure those things i’m a huge beginner. I kinda just watched a video of a man saying that phosguard works great for eliminating diatoms and I was wondering if I should give it a try. But yes I only started my tank in April and it’s not heavily stocked with plants. I haven’t really tried any other methods, I’d hate to spend money on something I don’t know is gonna work. The only thing that had helped it a little is seachem flourish but I didn’t even buy that product for the use of getting rid of diatoms.

MacZ

No I don’t own a test to measure those things i’m a huge beginner. I kinda just watched a video of a man saying that phosguard works great for eliminating diatoms and I was wondering if I should give it a try.
Then this video is a disguised advertisement. I wouldn't give it too much attention. Whenever aquarium youtubers recommend a certain product as a fix in this fashion you can ignore it.