Question Question about when to put in breeding box

tatty_kassy

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Hello!
I am a newbie to fishkeeping let alone breeding, I have done my best to do as much research as possible before I got my tank and I feel pretty confident about things so far.
About 5 days ago I realized my Platy was pregnant. She is quite round and I can see the gravid spot now, its fairly dark. I don't know if it happened in my tank or at the LFS because I've only had her for about a week and a half and I don't know how long it takes to see the spot..? (Meaning, theres some question as to who the father is lol)
I got a birthing box to put in my tank, one of those roomy ones that have a slotted shelf mid-way through the middle and then a net covers the whole thing. I got some baby fish food.... My question is when do I put her in there?? I tried a few days ago, but she seemed really frantic to get out so after an hour or so of her not calming down, I put her back in the main tank. I don't want her to get stressed..... I know it says they get a bit of a triangular shape to the body? Is that the back part, or the front part? Cuz looking at her right now, shes getting a bit square, but its more the front part then the back part.....
Any advice as to when I should put her in there, and how to put her in there with the least amount of stress?
Thank you!

Jrobber

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
How long do you think she has been pregnant for? The gestation usually takes around 20- 40 days, according to what I've read. Maybe check youtube for videos of livebearers giving birth so you will know what to look for.

I've never bred any livebearers so good luck with your new fry! Congratulations!

jetajockey

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years