Question About Real Plants Question 

ExiledxAssassin

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Alright, well I know a lot of you know A LOT about real plants, well i'm thinking about getting a few, but not sure which ones yet. Well I was just wondering a few questions.

1. How do you take care of them?
2. Is it more expensive to take care of them?
3. Do you just put them in and let them grow?

I've seen at the store that there are special "plant growing" light bulbs, (4.)Would I need to get one of those?

5. What is the C02 I hear everyone talking about on here? How do you use it?

Sorry so many questions before I go getting myself into problems

Paigee

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Hi ExiledxAssassin, welcome to FL
I'm a newbie too, but I have started a planted tank so I thought I would share my experience, being a beginner at plants as well.

I got some low light plants from my LFS, and put them in with the stock lighting that came with my Aqueon 29 gallon. However, after some thought, I decided I didn't want to be limited to what I could grow, so I splurged on a Coralife Aqualight 30", with one 10000K bulb and 1 6700K bulb. It is VERY bright! And plants are doing better than ever.

This was expensive though, so if you stick with low light plants, you should do ok. What kind of lighting does your tank have? And I am not entirely sure on the requirements of C02, but I am going to do an easy DIY set up to get some in my tank... I saw some before and after pics of people who installed C02 and wow what a difference!

So that is my 2 cents.... I'm sure plenty of others with muuuch more experience will also chime in and help answer your questions

jetajockey

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years