Question about planted tanks

LemonKitti

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello,
This is probably a totally Noob question but here goes!
I am thinking about trying my hand at a planted tank. Right now I have 2 aquariums with fake plants. I really like the look of a live tank, but am unsure about how to go about it. My main concern is how will you clean it. In a planted tank do you not need to clean it as with fake plants? Or if you slean it do you just try not to disturb the plants? Or take them up totally? Do you use different substrate? I do not know anyone who has one to ask for advise. Maybe I am just way out of my league here tho.
Thanks

Lucy

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Welcome to FishLore!!
Hope you don't mind, I moved your question into the plants section of the forum.
Several members have planted tanks and will be able to help.

Good luck!

bolivianbaby

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Welcome to Fishlore! I'm still pretty new at live plants myself, but I'm sure someone will be along shortly that can answer your questions.

LemonKitti

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I don't mind at all. I was actually on the members pictures section and saw some really nicely planted tanks and hit post there. I didn't realize it would post there till it was too late!
I didn't know how to move it so thanks for doing it for me!

TedsTank

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
live plants can be very easy. also you could go technical and have show plantings.

My 55 gallon has gravel and sand mixed approx 1 to 2 inches deep. I do nothing extra except an occasional dose of liguid fertilizer when I think of it!! (not often)

I am growing Guppy grass, Water sprite, Micro swords, amazon swords and anubias. The set back is...my amazon swords never get too tall...but grow well at up to 10- 12 inches.

There are several directions to go in starting plants. I started simple and still am pleased.