Question about Hole in Side of 40 Gallon Long

Slootha

Reaction score
Hey All,

I'm just getting into the fish keeping hobby so I'm pretty wet around the ears. Before I ask my question, I just want to say that I'm not going to be building this tank very soon, I am starting with a 20 gallon tank with a beginner setup, learning how to and starting my tank cycling process at the moment.

That being said, my father has a few 40 gallon long tanks (48x13x17 as best I could tell) that he said that I could have if I decide that I end up liking the hobby and want to try something bigger than the 20 gallon tanks. The problem is, these fish tanks are not retail tanks from a LFS, but were once display/holding tanks at a LFS. As such, each of them has two holes about 3/4 of the way up on the backs of the tanks. It looks like it was probably for some kind of joint filtration system perhaps. The issue with that is I don't know how to deal with them. Are there filters that I could get myself to "plug" these holes instead of the waterfall filters (like the one I have now for my 20 gallon that hangs on the top lip of the tank)? can I purchase plugs perhaps to seal them instead?

I have attached a picture of the tank and one of the holes for reference. Any advice on this would be much appreciated.

Thanks!
Slootha

nicole4434

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
You could use a jigsaw to cut glass to the hole sizes and then you use aquarium repair silicone to seal them in place, I know people who have used this silicone for complete builds so it should beable to do a small repair

Bluestreakfl

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
1 year