Quebec (canada) Stores

1. Maricalue

Maricalue Member Member

Hello,

I am quite new in the hobby. I have 2 great places where I am looking to buy my upcoming fish but I wish to know where you guys buy your fish/equipment/plants in Canada (mostly in the Eastern part, Ontario, Quebec and maybe Maritimes). I am in the Montreal area.

Do you buy online? If so, where?

If you are looking for a specific fish and there is none in your lps, how do you proceed?

Thanks!

2. Cheesearmada

Cheesearmada Member Member

Not quite sure if they ship to Canada but try live aquaria.

3. FishFish221

FishFish221 Well Known Member Member

CANADIAN AQUATICS sells fish, but shipping prices are crazy high, like almost every other website that sells fish.

4. OP
    OP
    Maricalue

Maricalue Member Member

Good to know.
    I know it can be expensive, but if they have the fish I want... I don't find a lot of good lfs so my stocking options is pretty limited for now.

Unfortunately no.

5. Cheesearmada

Cheesearmada Member Member

Try looking at The King of DIY and his youtube channel. He lives in Canada and orders online. I'd see what he uses.

6. OP
    OP
    Maricalue

Maricalue Member Member

Already a fan! I follow him for the past 2-3 years.

I will try to find his suppliers, he is in the Maritimes so not sure if it will do but it's a start!

7. NavigatorBlack

NavigatorBlack Fishlore VIP Member

We have very good retail in Montreal. In the suburbs, north, east and west, Pet Nature is usually good. Downtown, on St Hubert, Aquarium du Nord is a good special order, rarity place, and Aquarius on Jean Talon is an old established local store. The Safari chain carries the standard Singapore fish, exactly what you'd get with the bulk online places in the US - standards.Quebec Cichlides in Laval has top of the line Malawis.

We also have two aquarium clubs, one in each language, and both feature auctions of uncommon fish. They run once a month from Sept to June.