Qt Sponge Filter - What To Do With It Post-quarantine?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Aquarium Quarantine' started by elizthm, Jul 19, 2017.

1. elizthm

elizthmNew MemberMember

Complete newbie here with a question about the sponge filter being used in a quarantine tank. I have a 29 gallon tank cycled by using Angels Plus active sponge filters. I purchased two. For the QT, I set up a very economical one, following a post I found here on fishlore, using a sterilite container and equipment that a I inherited, and placing one of the active sponge filters from the 29 gallon tank in it. My question is, after the quarantine period, assuming the quarantined fish is disease free and is placed in the community tank, can I safely put the sponge filter back in the community tank, or should it be discarded? I apologize if this question has been answered elsewhere. I searched the forum, but didn't see it.

2. Aquaphobia

AquaphobiaFishlore LegendMember

I would put it in the main tank if the fish in quarantine were fine. Then if you need to start the qt again in future you'll have a filter ready to go!

3. OnTheFlyWell Known MemberMember

I would transfer the fish. If no sign of trouble move the filter in a few days. Even if the filter was exposed to disease there would be no need to discard it. Just soak it in some bleach water solution, rinse in hot water, and let it completely dry for a few days. Drop it back in the tank and recycle it like it was a new filter.

4. AllieSten

AllieStenFishlore VIPMember

Don't put your qt filter in your big tank. That defeats the whole purpose of keeping everything separate in the first place.

You can keep it in your qt if you didn't have any illness at all, but can you really be 100% sure? If you did a full 4 weeks of qt without illness I may reuse it with the next set of qt fish. Otherwise just toss it. They are cheap.

You could clean it like @OnTheFly suggested also. I just never have.