Putting Together A 10 Gal Sump

Foxyfish

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I'm new to fish building, but I've made some stuff before so I think I'll be able to make a sump
I've already bought two good sized buckets (no lids, but i can make those).
382949-e56cba6378571a3ecfe4772fd83060b5.jpg

And I plan on doing a trickle down filter, in the style of a mini plastic storage cabinet. . .
One of those really small sized ones, and I'll pack a mechanical filter into the first one (polyester, probably), and bioballs in the second. I'm gonna do those plastic pot scrubbies for the third, or lava rock if I can get ahold of them
382950-07df4058eab7773c7606c54654f1c693.jpg

382951-e104928ea7c858f833cbb1d45db84320.jpg

The blue bucket is bigger than the black, but the black has a handy pouring side that I could slip the airline tubing through. Whichever bucket I don't use will become a storage bucket!!

Anyway, that's the project. Updating will be really slow, and If anyone has any advice or tips then please share

(Also are there any other fish safe adhesives other than aquarium silicone? Is there any glue thats fish safe?)

NavyChief20

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Hey Foxy!
Im so glad you're doing a sump! Are you going to put the sump under your desk?
PVC glue is fish safe once dried. You will need that for the overflow and potentially the return pipe. What hardware stores do you have near you so i can tell you which will be best? Also forget the bioballs, they are over priced and the pot scrubbies do the same thing MUCH cheaper. The Lava rock is a must and you can get a good 10 lb bag for about $7.

Foxyfish

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
NavyChief20 said:
Hey Foxy!
Im so glad you're doing a sump! Are you going to put the sump under your desk?