Pumping Water From Stream - Crazy Idea? Question 

Nerium

Reaction score
So there's this old cast iron bathtub down the bottom of a paddock where I live, not far from a decent sized stream. It's outside the paddock, but also far enough up from the stream to be above winter flooding ... it has a little ballcock so it must have been a water trough years ago! I've been wondering about turning it into a pond as it's a decent size and I have acquired a common goldfish who needs a home. But the pump for the filter would have to be solar. I've been researching trying to find out ways to make that feasible ... and I just had a thought.

I have no experience in this area so there may be a big obvious reason why this is a bad idea. Rather than run a filter, could I simply use a pump to divert water from the stream into the trough and then back into the stream with another hose? Effectively doing constant water changes while the sun shone.

This would be provided water tests of the stream looked okay. I would be housing one, maybe two goldfish. The location doesn't give me concerns about nutrient runoff from the immediate hills.I imagine I would turn the pump off in heavy rain where the water might get mucky.

Again there ...probably is a reason not to do this? Or multiple reasons???? But I figure even learning why not would be valuable ... and let me tell you it is SO HARD to search for info about the concept .... the closest I've got so far was about filling ponds measured in acres!

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I live by a small stream and the 2 biggest issues I see would be the water getting muddy every time it rains hard and the flooding issue washing the pump down stream.

Nerium

Reaction score
I was thinking of having the pump in the bathtub sucking the water up from there? Cause yes it would definitely go bye-byes if it was in the stream! !