Protein Skimmer Options?

kamryn2474
I’m a fresh water hobbyist who’s trying to dip my toes in to salt water slowly (I’m going to college for marine biology soooo I feel like if I don’t know my stuff about a salt water tank obviously I’m not doing this right lol) I have recently purchased a FLUVAL SEA EVO XII AQUARIUM KIT, 12 GAL and I was wondering since it’s so small (and if I keep easy fish) would I really need a protein skimmer? Or maybe a natural way to help with the natural protein collection?

Thanks for any advice!
Kammy xx

sipec
kamryn2474 said:
I’m a fresh water hobbyist who’s trying to dip my toes in to salt water slowly (I’m going to college for marine biology soooo I feel like if I don’t know my stuff about a salt water tank obviously I’m not doing this right lol) I have recently purchased a FLUVAL SEA EVO XII AQUARIUM KIT, 12 GAL and I was wondering since it’s so small (and if I keep easy fish) would I really need a protein skimmer? Or maybe a natural way to help with the natural protein collection?

Thanks for any advice!
Kammy xx
You certainly don't need one
Are you going to do fish only or fish and coral?

kamryn2474
Joey Bekius said:
You certainly don't need one
Are you going to do fish only or fish and coral?
I’m hoping to do a few small fish but mostly coral though since I’ve heard they are good for starting out

sipec
kamryn2474 said:
I’m hoping to do a few small fish but mostly coral though since I’ve heard they are good for starting out
Depends on the coral really
Make sure to do your research before buying anything
And gl

Lchi87
HI and welcome to fishlore!

You definitely don’t need a skimmer for a tank that small. Weekly water changes and not overfeeding will help keep your nutrient levels in check.