Protein skimmer for non-reef tank?

Discussion in 'Saltwater Tank Equipment' started by fish4life157, Dec 3, 2012.

1. fish4life157

fish4life157Valued MemberMember

Hello Fish Lore! I have a 55 gallon currently cycling saltwater tank. I was wondering if I really needed to purchase a protein skimmer even though I don't plan to have corals anytime soon. I am just a beginner with saltwater tanks and I want to know if a protein skimmer would be necessary for a non-reef tank. Also how much water should I change in the 55 gallon during weekly water changes. Thanks!

2. scotty b

scotty bWell Known MemberMember

i havent ventured into saltwater yet but my understanding is the skimmer stops decaying organic mater from messing up your parameters so it would help keep the fish happy in the long run, in fw its 20%-30% weekly water change but i am unsure with sw

3. ryanr

ryanrModeratorModerator Member

Hi,
    IMHO, protein skimmers should be used on all SW setups. That said, in a FO/FOWLR, they are not 100% required, but highly recommended.

Skimmers work to keep DOCs out of the water column, ultimately helping to keep nitrates down (by removing the organics before they can rot and become NO3)

Most SW fish are wild-caught, and as such, are not exposed to nitrates, thus keeping them to a minimum is in the best interest of the fish. Too, unlike a FW environment, NO3 levels greater than 2ppm combined with elevated phosphates can quickly lead to an algae problem.

If you choose not to run a skimmer, it is highly recommended that more frequent water changes, i.e. 10% twice a week (not 20% once a week) can help to keep the concentrations down.

And as discussed in your other thread https://www.fishlore.com/fishforum/...9-1050-gph-koralia-circulation-pump-help.html, I would ditch the canister (they become nitrate factories unless cleaned every week) and just run a skimmer.

4. Eienna

EiennaFishlore VIPMember