Proper Way? When They Kick The Hay

SofieSoyy

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
So I know that eventually my little babies will pass on and as hard as that is to think about I don't really know the best way to send them off into heaven. I'm very new to having an aquarium when I was little I had the goldfish from the carnival and we always flushed it when it was time. But now that am older I was wondering what do you think the best way is? A flush? A burial?

Marijn Lange

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Personal preference. I think burying a fish is a little too much. I just trow or flush them away.

OP
SofieSoyy

SofieSoyy

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Marijn Lange said:
Personal preference. I think burying a fish is a little too much. I just trow or flush them away.
That's what I was thinking because right behind my house we have a plant nursery and I don't wamt to walk outside and see a grave dug up. But I was also thinking flush wise is that bad for the environment?

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Its no so much flushing the fish itself. Its flushing any pathogen or parasite it could of died from and introducing it into the water way. Now if you have your own septic system this contains it just to your yard primarily but some public waists facilities are not up to par and don't treat the waist for these issues. So its best not to flush fish.

Rtessy

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I bury mine if I've had them for a long time, but recently I got a bunch of parasite ridden minnows and had 28 die in a single day. I'm not about all that mass grave stuff, so I just bagged them and threw them away.

LeticiaM

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
I have heard some people will bury them in house plants, which seems like a nice tribute to ones that are special to you.
My luck I would go to repot the plant and a half-decayed fish would fall out though!

PheonixKingZ

Well Known