Question Proper Maintenance Schedule

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jrobber

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Now that my aquarium has finally stabilized, I am looking at starting a good maintenance schedule in order to keep my water parameters steady and to encourage good fish growth and lifespan. I had no idea of what I was getting into when my wife-to-be bought me my tank for Christmas, but I have learned so much just from Fishlore and these forums. I tried dealing with an ICK outbreak and it completely killed off my tank, therefore I am looking to prevent that from ever happening again. Please feel free to post any tips or tell me I am doing something wrong since I'm still a newbie. Ok, this will probably be a long post, I'm sorry. I will post what I plan on doing and I have some questions after that.

1. Water Parameters
pH 8.2
Ammonia 0.0 ppm
Nitrites 0.0 ppm
Nitrates 10
Temperature 79

2. Tank Setup
29 gallon, Aqua-Tech 20-40 Power Filter containing a Cartridge filter and BIO-Fiber, ZooMed 214 Powerhead with a sponge filter attached to the intake tube, Tetra Whisper 40 air pump attached to a 7 inch bubble wand, Aquaclear Heater.

Fish:
Currently: 2 Datamation Mollies(females), 1 Swordtail(male), and a Bristlenose Pleco.
What I would like: 5 Mollies(females), 3 Swordtail(2-to-1 female to male), 2-3 Guppies, 1 Dwarf Gourami, and my Pleco

3. Schedule
-Every Sunday: 10% water change - just removing 2.5-3.0 gallons of water
-Every 3rd Sunday: 30% water change with a gravel vacuum. Removal of artificial plants and decor and rinse.
-Once a month: Replace Filter Cartridge

Questions

I have seen posts telling people not to change out they're filters, just rinse them in tank water during water changes. Since I have a BIO-Fiber filter, I should replace the filters without replacing the BIO-Fiber filter?