Promoting anaerobic bacteria?

Wardonianfungus

Hi! I have a play sand capped, dirted tank. I have noticed random air bubbles floating to the surface. How can I promote anaerobic bacteria the grow?

SM1199

From what I understand, establishing a deep substrate (which you've probably already done with the dirt and sand) and not disturbing it too much or too often is the way to go, and that's the biggest part of it. I'm no pro on the topic, but this may be helpful:
0 Nitrites Is Easy

Wardonianfungus

Ok thanks I’ll look at that link. How deep should it be?

SM1199

Wardonianfungus said:
Ok thanks I’ll look at that link. How deep should it be?
2.5-3 inches, per OP of that thread.

Wardonianfungus

Ok, I’m good with that then. I don’t understand how I could have so many airbubbles
. I’ll research it later

SM1199

Wardonianfungus said:
Ok, I’m good with that then. I don’t understand how I could have so many airbubbles
. I’ll research it later
The air bubbles are the gaseous nitrogen that are released by anaerobic bacteria as a result of denitrification, so if that's what you're concerned about, have no fear - that's what you want to see. Anaerobic means no oxygen, not no air, as the name may confusingly suggest.

Wardonianfungus

Oh okay thanks. I was concerned about the bubbles, I thought they were bad. Thanks for the help

DoubleDutch

SM1199 said:
The air bubbles are the gaseous nitrogen that are released by anaerobic bacteria as a result of denitrification, so if that's what you're concerned about, have no fear - that's what you want to see. Anaerobic means no oxygen, not no air, as the name may confusingly suggest.
or other (worse) gasses

sfsamm

DoubleDutch said:
or other (worse) gasses