Project Discus Tank

1. 125Goal Initiate Member

Hello Folks,

I'm still thinking of "Project Discus Tank", but I have a few questions and concerns that is holding me back...

I do know about the cycling, beneficial bacteria, water changes, water parameters, etc, filters, tropical fish community.... but I have zero experiences in Discus keeping.

Questions:

1. I'm thinking of getting a 125 Gallon tank for Discus school., Is 125 Gallon okay? I've heard that they require a big tank and I do not want to get a 55 Gallon tank (i think its to small).

2. Can I make it a planted tank or just driftwood?

3. How many Discus can fit in a 125 Gallon standard tank comfortably? I do not want to jam pack the aquarium just to have many fish...I want the fish to have space to swim...

4. I know that they require a mature tank....so after the cycling process is completed...how long should i wait to add my Discus fish? 6 months, 12months?

5. Can I keep Kuhli loaches (12 of them) with Discus? I am thinking of transferring the Kuhlis from my 56 gallon to the 125 Gallon only if they can co-habitate with Discus along with my cardinals? If not, I will probably give the 56 Gallon tank and all its residents to my sister or brother. I do want to two tanks at my place.

thank you.

2. bolivianbaby Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to Fishlore!

I have no experience keeping discus personally, but we have a few members who have. I'm sure they'll be along shortly and can answer your questions:)

3. Disc61 Well Known Member Member

Hello and Welcome to Fishlore:;hi2
    1. 125 gl would work well, but a 55 gl would work too. i am actually in the process of a Project myself using a 55 gl. 55 gl can support 6 full size Discus.
    2. Many, many people have planted tanks for Discus, thing to remember is Discus require Prestine water conditions all the time. a planted tank is not necessarily recommended for first time Discus keepers.